Gilver

Image

Gilver is a shawl I designed specially for Mica, owner and dyer at YarnPony. I wanted something with simplicity but a bit of interest too. The body of the shawl could hardly be easier: it’s perfect ‘out and about’ knitting. The double edging is simple to do (and quick, if you don’t count the need to cast off twice) and just a bit different.

I’d had the idea of some sort of double edging in mind for three years or so, and when I finally got round to combining it with the Shetland-esque body of the shawl, I knew I’d found something I’ll return to again, perhaps with a more complex edging or two colours layered together.

Image

The yarn I used is YarnPony ShowPony 4-ply, 50% silk/50% merino, 400m. The colour is Oatmeal, but in reality it has an almost metallic look to it, like burnished metal. The drape from the silk is perfect, and it was basically very plush and lovely to knit with (and it survived a couple of rip-outs too, with good grace and the minimum of fuss). Mica (YarnPony) is in the process of getting a web shop up and running, and deserves every success, as she has a great eye for colour:

Image

Something for everyone there, I think 🙂  (Photo by Mica.)

Leave a comment